Season opener: Johannes Wildner in Sønderborg

After two open-air concerts this August, Johannes Wildner inaugurates his third season as Principal Conductor of the Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra with a heavily Danish programme.

The concert kicks off with Friedrich Kuhlau’s Overture from the incidental music to “Elverhøj” (“The Elvish Hill”), that incorporates numerous Danish and Swedish folk tunes. Also part of this overture is the Danish royal anthem “Kong Christian stod ved højen mast”; Kuhlau first published its melody more than two hundred years ago, in 1817.

Mihaela Oprea then plays the solo violin part in Niels Gade’s concerto for violin op. 56; Gade’s influence can be clearly heard in Grieg’s early works, by the way. The concert closes with Carl Nielsen’s 4th Symphony, written in 1916, in the midst of the Great War.

Two weeks later, Johannes Wildner and his orchestra play two more concerts, these with works by Samuel Barber and Richard Strauss as well as Antonín Dvořák’s 7th Symphony, in Flensburg and Haderslev.

Sønderjyllands Symfoniorkester
Conductor: Johannes Wildner
Friedrich Kuhlau: “Elverhøj” overture
Niels Gade: Concerto for violin op. 56 (Mihaela Oprea, Violine)
Carl Nielsen: Symphony No. 4, “The Inextinguishable”
September 10th – Alsion, Sonderborg

Sønderjyllands Symfoniorkester
Conductor: Johannes Wildner
Samuel Barber: Essay No. 2, Op. 17
Richard Strauss: Oboe concert
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 7, Op. 70
September 23rd – Flensburg
September 24th – Haderslev

Artists in this article